Etchings in the Sand…

Thoughts and Photos from the Desert…

Karaoke Meditation

Karaoke is supposed to be something you do in bars. There can be more than that – believe me. It is good with groups of friends and family. It is fun with children. It has possibilities for large groups of like-minded people.

It beats Mitch Miller. But that was long ago.

A few years ago at Christmastime, my daughter gave me a “singing machine” which is another name for karaoke. She knew I loved to sing and was a jazz singer in high school and college days. I was thrilled. Went out and bought some Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Andy Williams, Perry Como, etc. background music – headed home, hooked it up to the television so I could follow the words and started singing.

Mostly love songs to Jo Ann but on occasion, when she wasn’t around, I would just sing. To my surprise, it was incredibly therapeutic. I could really let go. Stretch my voice to do things I didn’t think I could do. Get transported by the music to feelings that surprised me. It was a meditative experience, closely resembling prayer.

Maybe that’s a stretch. But singing is a wondrous thing. It unquestionably touches and reflects the soul.

6 responses to “Karaoke Meditation

  1. bo March 22, 2006 at 7:09 am

    I want a LIVE song on this blog of YOU singing something.

  2. PB March 22, 2006 at 2:58 am

    I especially enjoy it when Dad lets ‘er rip on the karaoke machine with some good ol’ fashioned Ozzie Osbourne heavy metal music.

  3. citrus March 22, 2006 at 3:20 am

    Now, boys! Let’s show a little respect for the old goat.

    Ozzie tried to sign me to a contract, but it involved an Elvis impersonation.

    And, I’d be happy to include a Live song, but I can’t even figure out how to increase the size of the picture. (just a beginning blogger, you know)

  4. citrus March 22, 2006 at 3:23 am

    oops. See above for response!

  5. Liz March 28, 2006 at 7:05 am

    I espescially love you singing Frank Sinatra. Second vote with Bo….sing live on the blog!!

  6. shelly January 18, 2007 at 11:34 am

    i love those antiques!

Leave a Reply

