Etchings in the Sand…

Thoughts and Photos from the Desert…

potter

One of the most satisfying phases of my life was the 15 years I spent learning and doing clay pottery. Not really enjoying the organized potting of our Sun City West clay club, I bought my own wheel, kiln, tools, clay, chemicals, etc and set up my own studio at home. My wheel and kiln were under orange trees in my back yard. It was idyllic. And highly creative.

potter.jpg

I will share some of my work with you in a future weblog. What I have to say today is that when we decided to move into a condo (sometime in the near future) there would be no room for my studio or the pots I created. It was time to turn my back on something I loved and move on to newer things.I sold or gave away everything.

I don’t feel badly about this. As life goes on there are many changes and transitions. There’s always something good left to do. Whether it is playing favorite sports, enjoying special friends, living in a wonderful place, progressing in a vocation you love, growing a career or family – all things have their place and time. Then their time runs out.

As Martin Luther put it:

“Let goods and kindred go,
this mortal life also –
the body they may kill
God’s truth abideth still –
His kingdom is forever.”

This journal is one result of moving on. Of course, there’s more.

4 responses to “potter

  1. bo March 22, 2006 at 11:54 pm

    I asked Andy (my brother) whether he missed is “stuff” in Andover, having been away from it for three months. [For non-family readers, for health reasons, Andy has to avoid cold weather from Jan – Mar every year. He spent it in Santa Barbara this year.] He said NO and that he would probably take less stuff next time.

    Even though as we get older, we get more and more STUFF If we are lucky, we become less attached to it.

  2. citrus March 23, 2006 at 1:15 am

    Travel light but travel well.

  3. PB March 23, 2006 at 3:57 am

    I love the hymn that Luther’s words are put to.

  4. citrus March 23, 2006 at 4:02 am

    “A Mighty Fortress” Yes!

Leave a comment