Etchings in the Sand…

Thoughts and Photos from the Desert…

Where Have All the Flowers Gone?

protest.jpg

Like you, I suppose, I read each new day the bizarre statements coming out of Washington about our adventure in Iraq – how well it is going – and I wonder. It isn't considered patriotic to frown, or shake your head,or roll your eyes, or to raise a question about it. what a strange new world we live in.

 

I keep wondering where the students are. In the 60s and 70s, while we were embroiled in VietNam, they were raising hell on their campuses, in their communities, in Washington, D.C. They thought and felt the wrongness of it and decided to act. In one sense they brought the government down. At least they created a climate in which the government fell.

 

I sense little or no response today from our student generation. They seem into other things. Granted, I could be wrong. I am not on campus. But I look and I watch. Their generation is paying the price in life and limb. They and their children will foot the trillion dollar bills.

 

Maybe they just haven't found their voice. Or maybe their heads are in another place.

 

I don't know.

 

Comments, anyone?

5 responses to “Where Have All the Flowers Gone?

  1. PB March 27, 2006 at 1:01 am

    Good question, except for I don’t think it is just this generation of youth that is relatively indifferent to the atrocities that we, as a country, commit overseas. My generation (youth of the late ’70’s and early ’80’s) certainly had issues we could protest as well, but we said little because those thoughts weren’t even on our radar at that age. Then again, most of the youth of the ’60’s and early ’70’s were stoned out of their minds and were all about peace, love and dope, with the emphasis on dope, which is not exactly a healthy approach either. The ’60’s love children were primarily anti-establishment, which at the time, was certainly justified. From the moment we leave the womb, our world evolves from me to us; the older and, hopefully, more sophisticated we become, the more we realize that we’re all in this together. Things ain’t just made in America. I am in my 40’s now and just in the last several years started to become in tune to world events and how intertwined we are not only as a nation but globally as well. Some of my generation beat me to this point; others aren’t there yet. What I try to do as a parent is share with my children some of my concerns about what we as a country are doing around the world; it’s hard not be be preachy about it, but at least I want my kids to start thinking about these things and formulating their own opinions and ideologies. Then I just hope that they can do something constructive in their community and country, making the world a better place to be in their own small way. And I just hope that I can do the same; practice what I preach.

  2. Cowtown Pattie March 27, 2006 at 3:30 am

    How very odd to find this post this afternoon. My husband and I were headed to Sam’s for Sunday grocery shopping and had an old Crosby Stills Nash & Young cd in the player. Four Dead in Ohio came on and we were remembering the Kent State hippies who put flowers in the barrels of the young National Guardsmen that infamous day. We,too, were wondering where the voices of the youth are these days. Seems like several whole generations are so apathetic.

    We decided whatever happened to the 80’s generation also afflicted those that came after. My own daughters are shoulder shruggers when it comes to politics. That they did not inherit from Mom.

  3. citrus March 27, 2006 at 9:22 am

    Funny we haven’t heard this question raised by anyone. Students have been the heart of revolution in many cultures and in many times. Granted there are mature and immature ways of saying “no” to the establishment of the day. Granted, with youthful minds it is easy to cross the lines. There was a peace movement in the 60s and 70s with a musical dynamic. The protest songs were unforgetable. Powerful stuff.

  4. citrus March 27, 2006 at 9:32 am

    PB makes an excellent point. This type of thing has not been an issue for decades. It has only been recently that most of us have become sensitized to what our government is up to. This could change quickly. Last week’s massive demonstrations by Hispanics in protest against the new immigration laws could really shake the timbers. In Phoenix, it was the biggest demonstration in the history of this city. Could they be the new voice of freedom?

Leave a Reply

