Etchings in the Sand…

Thoughts and Photos from the Desert…

Writing…

Boston Globe writer Donald Murray died at 83. Ronnie
shares some poignant quotes from Murray:

“I’m glad to report that even now, at this late day, a blank sheet of
paper holds the greatest excitement there is for me – more promising
than a silver cloud, prettier than a little red wagon. It holds all the
hope there is, all fears.”

 donaldmurry1.jpg

“Friends wonder why I do not take it easy. Why I don’t play golf or
walk through cathedrals in Italy. Because I have an obsession. I write.
I draw. I try to capture a fragment of life and reveal its wonder to
you. I never get it quite right, but there is a joy in the trying that
makes me young at 83.”

— A writer like this and I didn’t even know who he was.

powered by performancing firefox

Leave a Reply

