Etchings in the Sand…

Thoughts and Photos from the Desert…

Fathers – A Somewhat Darker View…

There aren’t all that many great fathers. Never have been.

I rate myself as something between a fair and a good father, not great, though I must say that we brought up five truly outstanding children.

One only hopes that sons build on the good they learned and pick up on what they didn’t get from their dads and provide a better share of it for their own children.

Mothers, on the other hand truly deserve a special “day.” Maybe it all balances out in the long run. I give a sad smile when athletes wave at the camera and say “hi, mom!” I well know what they’re saying.

Powered by ScribeFire.

One response to “Fathers – A Somewhat Darker View…

  1. citrus June 18, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    Dad,

    I wish to disagree with what you wrote in your blog. I think that you are an amazing father. No matter what, you have always been there for me and my brothers. You have provided your opinion, and leave it to us whether we wish to heed your advise or not. Your input, in my eyes, have always been wise. Sometimes, what you offer is not what I want to hear, but there is wisdom in your ideas. I feel that I have become a good person, and you and Mom were a big part of that. Life isn’t always easy, but sometimes it is with pain that you grow the most as a person. So Dad, I thank you for what you have given me. I love you very much, and am very proud to call you my father!!!

    I love you very much,

    Liz

Leave a Reply

