Etchings in the Sand…

Thoughts and Photos from the Desert…

Tree of Smoke …

Last Sunday’s New York Times Book Review featured an excellent review of Denis Johnson’s new novel, Tree of Smoke.

Jim Lewis, the reviewer, comments on the Johnson’s work: “He’s one of the writers whose works I find I can’t do without. There are a few of them — J. M. Coetzee, Mary Gaitskill. Maybe there are more than a few. They seem to write at right angles to everyone else, and while I don’t always admire everything they do, I find them inescapable: they demand attention. Their worst work is worth more to me than other people’s best, and their best is something I will always carry.”

“Right angles To everyone else.” That intrigues me. My kind of guy.

Now, today, Deborah Barlow writes about the review today in her always good blog, Slow Muse.

I’ve put Johnson’s Tree of Smoke on my Amazon order list. I can’t resist a great novel and this one sounds like it might be just that.

Here’s the link to the review: New York Times

Powered by ScribeFire.

One response to “Tree of Smoke …

  1. Deborah Barlow September 6, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    So glad to read that you too were intrigued by the review. Let’s compare notes when we’ve finished reading the novel.

Leave a Reply

