Etchings in the Sand…

Thoughts and Photos from the Desert…

Recalculate, Fool!

My composer/professor son wrote something on his blog that made me – even his father! – think.

Very nice. I smile.

My new best friend is my portable GPS device that snaps into a holder on my windshield to tell me where I am and where I’m going. I have a terrible, terrible sense of direction so this has been a godsend. Even when I ignore Nüvi (the device), it can keep me awake arguing with her: “No! This IS the best way to go you silly machine.” To which she’ll say: “Turn left! Turn left!”

My favorite aspect is of the device is when I DON’T follow her directions, she simply says: “Recalculating…” and doesn’t give me attitude, just goes with the flow.

It occurs to me when I admire Nüvi’s amazing patience with me that people could learn a lot from her. When life throws things in your way and you end up going a different way than you had originally planned, get over it, move on, and RECALCULATE.

Leave a Reply

