Etchings in the Sand…

Thoughts and Photos from the Desert…

2 Great Weeks…

We studied our Google Calendar page this morning and realized that for the first two weeks in several months we have nothing coming up except our day to day activities that tend to repeat themselves as life goes on.

It is a wonderful feeling!

I can do some of the things that I’ve been eager to get done.

I have three novels on my Kindle that are hanging there, ready to challenge my mind and spirit. WAR AND PEACE, ANNA KARENINA AND LOOK HOMEWARD ANGEL. Obviously, I’ll be fortunate to finish these three by June, but I’ve been too cluttlered to even begin.

We’re doing Chi Gung now and I’ve started researching the background, techniques and spirit of this fascinating discipline of
Chinese Healing Energy and “natural magick”, as L. V. Carnie puts it.

Today I will be throwing four tumblers for Jo Ann and after that hope to put together some personal vision pots to be wood fired at Northern Arizona University – if I can reconnect there. I am seldom as happy as when I’m forming clay on my wheel.

We’ve been trying to figure out how we might get onto some Android or IPhone “friends and family plan” to put together in two smartphone pieces all the high tech hardware we use in one little portable machine – to stimulate and stretch ourselves without going bankrupt! Thus far, it’s just something to think about. But the thinking and researching are fun to do together.

Our Christmas celebrations are wondrously simple, personal and traditional. We are together and fill our Christmas time with Church (I read the Scriptures on Christmas day), enjoying the Christmas concerts on Public Television, chatting on the phone with our kids and just being there for each other and our two happy pooches, Oliver and Amy. ‘Tis a lovely season!

Life for seniors can get pretty cluttered. Boomers have no exclusive rights to that. But the freedom to reclutter with things you really WANT to do? That is contentment.

Leave a Reply

