Etchings in the Sand…

Thoughts and Photos from the Desert…

Maundy Musing…

Several years ago, I was quite taken by a crucifix, created by our Pastor’s wife, Lynn. She had done it in textiles and attached it to a giant hanging behind our altar. I asked her if I might take the design and redo it with my own vision in clay. She gave me permission and I proceded to sculpt, glaze and fire several small versions of it.

I had an extremely dramatic rock on our front porch which I had picked up during a solo camping/fishing trip up in the White Mountains of Arizona. It seemed to fit the little black crucifix somehow. I attached the two.

One has to look carefully to see what is going on in that art-piece. Only a few notice it – the contrasts are too subtle. But those who do seem invariably surprised and thoughtful. Somehow it has it’s own personal effect.

It seemed a good thing to share on this Maundy Thursday. This is for you…

Leave a Reply

